Uncanny

Every morning changes

The context.

Today I did not hear my name in the rain

As if the sky itself were

Out of words, numb, amnesiac

 

Stopping at a dark, watery junction

I think I hear the neon lights whisper

Some pink and orange nostalgia, blink, what?

There was a rooster crow

From the garden where I used to play

(in the rain?)

 

Wait,

Did you

Say something?

 

My eyes lurch from scene to scene

Never present long enough to sense

The familiar, or forgotten

On these streets

 

In the gray days we’ve been

Batting at each other

With kitten claws, butterfly paws.

I always think that

It’s uncanny

That you are right there, in front of me

And I don’t even know

Your name.

Leave a Reply

