A Taste of Japan in The Heart of London

On my birthday, I went to the Japan festival in London, Matsuri 2013. My friends and I spent the afternoon savouring the Japanese food, watching cultural performances and lamenting that we were not actually living in Japan. Strange how a foreign land has managed to capture the hearts of so many people, and make us feel like we were meant to be there all our lives.fes

1

IMG_1946

2

IMG_1959

3

IMG_1951

4

 

IMG_1986

5

IMG_1962

6

“かつて私は狸としていかに行くべきかという難問に取り組んだことがある。

そうやって、何もしないでぶらぶらしているうちにこれはどうやら面白く生きるほかに何もすべきことはないようだと悟りを開いた。”

“Once, I wondered about the difficult question of how I should live as a tanuki.

And then, as I continued to live like that, doing nothing much at all, I realised that there was nothing else I needed to do

Except to live an interesting life.”

~Uchouten Kazoku

 

3 thoughts on “A Taste of Japan in The Heart of London

Leave a Reply

