Lessons from growing up with friends

photo-4

In my free pockets of time, I’ve been writing some farewell letters to good friends. I think I’m doing it just as much for my own comfort as I am for theirs.

I’ve always been blessed with really adorable, sweet, kind and sensible friends. In writing, I take time to remember these good people in my life. It brings me back to my roots, and helps me remember the lessons I’ve learnt growing up.

It helps me remember never to kill a mockingbird, and that most people are real nice when you finally see them.

It helps me realise that clothes and image don’t matter, but your commitment to be the better person does. And that at the end of the day, what you achieve is not as important as whether you’ve done your best.

It helps me remember that the truth is it is better to give than to receive.

It makes me believe that you really don’t need things or boys to feel good about yourself. You just need to grow, learn, laugh and love.

It’s been said that mistakes are the best teachers, because they make us hurt. But good things and good people passing through our lives can be good teachers too. Except sometimes, amidst the increasing demands and pressures of an adult life just beginning, it takes a bit of work to remember. But boy, is it important.

“All I really need is a song in my heart, and love in my family”

~All I Really Need, Raffi

Leave a Reply

