Mid Autumn

In the afternoon today I got the chance to meet up with two really sweet friends who after tea decided that it would be good idea to go hunting for durian mooncakes at the mooncake festival fair at taka.

I felt quite nostalgic looking at the childrens’ lanterns on sale. It brought back memories of jamming AA batteries into the plastic tube-like handles of inflatable lanterns and hearing a high pitched tune play. Memories of crinkly fluorescent-coloured, animal-shaped lanterns hanging from a stick, and how I would walk real carefully when holding them, so as not to burn myself – Memories of a time when simple toys like that were fascinating, and fire was dangerous and intriguing. Memories of quieter nights, and simpler days.

It made me think, also, that children actually don’t need a lot to be happy. Simple things, like mid-autumn lanterns, can actually form the pleasantest of our memories.

 

